January 2, 2016

Karnataka Philatelic Society (KPS) - 40th Anniversary

Karnataka Philatelic Society, Bengaluru 40th anniversary celebrations and a joint meeting with Royal Philatelic Society of London was held on 6th December 2015 at Meghdoot Hall, GPO, Bengaluru.

Karnataka Philatelic Society (KPS) was founded in 1975 in Bangalore by late Col. L. G. Shenoy and like minded senior philatelists. The KPS acts as a platform for philately in Karnataka especially in Bangalore. The key charter of the society is to promote philately as hobby starting from young kids to senior citizens.

To celebrate its 40th Anniversary Karnataka Philatelic Society organized a function at Meghdoot Auditorium, General Post Office Building, Rajbhavan Road, Bengaluru on 6th December 2015. On the occasion a Special Cover on 40 years of Karnataka Philatelic Society was released by Smt. Usha Chandrasekhar, Chief Postmaster General, Karnataka Postal Circle in presence of Shri Chaitanya Dev, President, Karnataka Philatelic Society and Shri Markand Dave, India Representative of Royal Philatelic Society

On the occasion renowned philatelist Dr. Sita Bhateja was awarded lifetime achievement award. Special edition of KarPhila Magazine was also released at the function,   Sri. Markand Dave handed over the first copy of KarPhila magazine to Mr Athani Mahalingeshwar, Senior Life Member of the Society.

After the function a joint meeting with Royal Philatelic Society of London was also organized. President KPS describes the significance of the joint meeting and announces Sri Y R Shah Memorial lecture by Mr Markand Dave, FRPSL.  Mr. Markand Dave delivers lecture on “2 Annas Green” after garlanding the photograph of Sri. Y R Shah

 During the joint meeting there were talks from the following:

 1.       Sri. Markand Dave, FRPSL – Two Annas Queen Victoria stamp
 2.       Sri. Thejus – Flora & Fauna (Youth philatelist talk)
 3.       Sri. Varaprasad – Tale of Mail
 4.       Ajay Padmanabhan – Cars

Function was well attended by a large number of members and philatelists.

Courtesy: Suresh Rao, Bengaluru.

No comments: